Falafel butternut squash and nutmeg burger and home made ginger beer

So I’m siting in a crowded bar type place but its really beautiful. A nice ambient European style tapas bar restaurant.

20130802-190309.jpg

20130802-190321.jpg

Is Friday night and I’m off out for some tasty food and a few drinks. The menu here is split decided half vegetarian half meat eaters. What’s better is the drinks menu is a few bottled beers and then a gazillion different teas and coffees and lots more fresh juices mixers and home made drinks. As the title says I’m having the falafel burger and ginger beer. Dave is having a jambalaya and a guest ale. I was commented on recently that the new improved alcohol free me is much better. I am calmer and more consistent mood wise. I am more predictable and friendly. This is all good news to me. Just to note, I have seen the desert menu too and the chocolate brownies are jumping out at me.

So tonight is my only night out this weekend as I am working the other days. I am celebrating 50 days sober although its not official till Sunday but it feels like I am turning a corner. I few unexpected comments are arising. Things I didn’t expect like tonight Dave says, if you do a hundred days it won’t be worth starting again. Now when I first quit I expected him to be counting down the days to me starting again so we could go out and enjoy ourselves but I’m finding we are going out and enjoying ourselves more often anyway. The other thing that’s crept in to my head is the longer I go without it the more I sort of fear a hangover. I used to suffer with anxiety when hungover and I would spend all day wit clenched fists eating excessive amounts of food and longing for more sleep. The more I think about it the less I want to go back to that lifestyle. I expected myself initially to be strong but then wane as I slowly slid back to longing for my old friend alcohol. I’m not feeling a super power or anything but I am feeling quietly smug. Tonight is lovely so far and if the food is good I think I will be coming back. Tonight I celebrate almost 50 days sober (48) happy weekend to you all.
And my food has just arrived. So have a picture….

20130802-192304.jpg

20130802-192316.jpg

5 thoughts on “Falafel butternut squash and nutmeg burger and home made ginger beer

Leave a comment